Bob Smith Award

Hobart District Basketball Association (now known as Phoenix Basketball Club) was established in 1990 and Bob Smith was the inaugural Senior Men’s Vice President.


From that year until his passing in 1999 Bob led the way in commitment, passion and the number of volunteer hours he contributed to the club.  Over this period Bob raised thousands of dollars for the club – particularly through pub meat raffles. Every Saturday for the whole year Bob would sell tickets. Bob regularly came up with donations for other functions.


Bob also coached the Division 3 men’s team and was a major recruiter through his Hobart Technical College teams and his involvement in other rosters.  Bob was loyal and selfless and never stopped giving for the club.  Bob never sought recognition, his joy came through seeing the club grow and the players achieve on court success.


The Phoenix Basketball Club is proud to recognise Bob through the presentation of the Bob Smith Memorial Award for unselfish service to the club.


2017     Adrian Crespan & Allen Stennings

2016     Tim McShane

2015     Adrian Crespan

2014     Matt Hargrave & Jenny Sparks

2013     Jenny Sparks

2012     Adrian Giusti

2011     Rhys Hauler

2010     Kelsey Bond

2009     Sascha Stephens

2008     Danni Lockley

2007     Denis Lockley

2006     Michael Blake

2005     Phil Boulter